Reviews

Edding stopover - Rating 5/5

We stayed here in the summer of 2016. Our hosts were extraordinarily helpful after we had severe traffic issues and arrived very, very late. Nothing was too much trouble, despite the late hour of our arrival. The room we stayed in was super clean. Breakfast was great too. We wouldn\'t hesitate to use Rockwood House again. Very many thanks to our hosts for their care and diligence.

Reviewer: Maximilian Woodward | Sun 30th Apr 2017


Good b and b - Rating 5/5

Friendly host and clean rooms with comfortable beds. Great breakfast!

Reviewer: Catherine Snow | Sun 30th Apr 2017


Hayley - Rating 5/5

We had a fantastic weekend staying at Rockwood. We were made welcome as soon as we arrived and our room was very comfortable. Breakfast was freshly made with plenty of choice. Beautiful location with lots to explore in the local area.

Reviewer: Mrs. Hayley Luxford | Tue 11th Apr 2017


Good overnight stop - Rating 4/5

Nice people lovely room local pub very good. One little downside was a weak shower but everything else made up for that

Reviewer: Philip Collins | Thu 12th Jan 2017


Super Hosts, Good Location, Great Breakfast - Rating 5/5

The Hosts were super hospitable; went out of their way to cater to our needs for Halal Breakfasts, and also providing tips for places to visits, with printed maps. Rooms were comfortable, ample parking, and good location.

Reviewer: ARIFFIN MAMAT | Mon 9th Jan 2017


A comfortable stay - Rating 5/5

We received a very warm welcome and everything was provided. The room was comfortable and breakfast first class.

Reviewer: Edmund Weiner | Tue 29th Nov 2016


A perfect rest place of a High all round standard - Rating 5/5

A lovely well kept welcoming home. Lovely bedrooms, nice crisp bedding clean and well decorated throughout. Nothing lacking at breakfast, nothing too much trouble. Lots of choice, perfect for an overnight stay. Would definitely visit again.

Reviewer: Fiona Waugh | Fri 28th Oct 2016


Good value - Rating 4/5

Comfortable room with ensuite but minimum shower aids.Excellent breakfast .Would definitely stay again

Reviewer: Gordon Welford | Wed 26th Oct 2016


fabulous family room! - Rating 5/5

Rockwood House is a gem set in the jewels of the Yorkshire Dales. The beautifully decorated family room afforded splendid views over the countryside and was a perfect place for our one night stop. Breakfast was lovely and for just over £100, Rockwood House offered value without cutting down on comfort and taste. Our hosts were friendly and made our stay even more pleasant.

Reviewer: Stephen Moses | Tue 18th Oct 2016


Great locatiopn for access to the Dales - Rating 5/5

An ideal gateway to the Yorkshire Dales. Rockwood House is run by a charming and helpful couple. The room was spacious, bright and comfortable. Breakfast was a free choice, good produce and most enjoyable.

Reviewer: Peter Clark | Sat 17th Sep 2016


Week end with family very great - Rating 5/5

A warm and pleasant reception saw we were to arrive late. The room is comfortable, breakfast is very extensive and the house is very nice. Thank you again for your understanding for our late arrival due to our flight and the closed highway. Best regards

Reviewer: Marie Ange CALIZ | Sat 10th Sep 2016


Rock wood house - Rating 5/5

Second visit. Very comfortable, very welcoming and lovely breakfast. Close to Skipton so ideal for exploring the Dales. Thank you.

Reviewer: Jennifr Lland | Thu 8th Sep 2016


A good gateway to the Dales - Rating 5/5

We had a short stay at Rockwood House and found it a very pleasant experience, with comfortable bed and room and ample and tasty breakfasts. The owners were always helpful even when we had a flat battery and they helped to start the car. Well worth a visit !!!

Reviewer: Michael Barnett | Mon 5th Sep 2016


Comfortable Accomodation in Quiet Village - Rating 5/5

Comfortable accommodation in a quiet rural village location with a friendly host, fresh milk for tea/coffee and good breakfast. Parking opposite and a pub just down the road serving good food at reasonable prices. A good base to explore the area.

Reviewer: Brian Latham | Sun 28th Aug 2016


Rockwood House B & B - Rating 5/5

I recommend Rockwood House completely. The help and care to customer satisfaction was second to none.

Reviewer: Mrs. Margaret Carter | Thu 25th Aug 2016


Lovely room - Rating 4/5

One adult and two teenagers in a lovely room with large bathroom. Good breakfast and friendly welcoe.

Reviewer: Rosemary Middleton | Wed 17th Aug 2016


Feedback - Rating 4/5

Very friendly owners Jean and Robert, lovely clean house, in lovely little village. The only negative thing to say is, with the windows open at night because it was really warm weather, is the noise of the traffic, and the shower was not powerful, and the temperature was a bit temperamental.

Response

The road/street through our village is rural. Generally there is very little traffic at night though recently there has been filming at night for a feature film, this is beyond our control. Sorry it is not a power shower!

Reviewer: Karen Myers | Tue 2nd Aug 2016


Cosy and friendly - Rating 4/5

Our welcome was a little terse but overall we were made welcome. The ground floor front room suffered from traffic and inconsiderate guest noise but we were overall cosy and we felt comfortable; our breakfasts were excellent

Reviewer: JOHN BROADBRIDGE | Mon 1st Aug 2016


Mini break. - Rating 4/5

The B & B itself is situated a couple of miles outside Skipton in the village of Embsay. When we arrived, we were greeted with a friendly welcome. We were immediately shown to our Family room, which they had forgotten to make up the single bed! Non the less, it was a very comfortable, clean room with a large en suit. A hearty breakfast was served the following morning accompanied by Mrs. offering ideas for our stay. My wife briefly met Mr. who again was very nice. All in all, very pleasant stay.

Reviewer: Tony Terry | Fri 29th Jul 2016


Quiet weekend - Rating 5/5

Easy to find and free parking opposite. Owners friendly and helpful. Room was fine. Pub nearby and short drive into Skipton. Good breakfast and nothing too much trouble. Overall very good and would stay again. Shower not the best but we enjoyed our stay.

Reviewer: COLIN HUGHES | Tue 19th Jul 2016


13 to 16 July - Rating 5/5

Really enjoyed our stay. Very welcoming. Comfotable room, lovely breakfast. Lovely village, great meals at pub across road. We will definitely return an recommend to friends.

Reviewer: Christine Orr | Sun 17th Jul 2016


best holiday in UK - Rating 5/5

all services are perfect !

Reviewer: Annamaria Pockai | Thu 14th Jul 2016


Excellent in all respects. - Rating 5/5

Clean comfortable room. Friendly and helpful hosts. Best of all - a little jug of REAL milk on request. That\'s worth several stars in my view!

Reviewer: Wendy Bolton | Mon 11th Jul 2016


Thanks - Rating 5/5

Very comfortable with convenient ample parking. Quiet with comfortable beds, very clean and fresh, good breakfast, served by friendly efficient hostess.

Reviewer: David Mounteney | Wed 6th Jul 2016


Great place - Rating 4/5

Excellent location,comfortable room.

Reviewer: Patricia Cocking | Wed 22nd Jun 2016


* - Rating 5/5

Very nice and welcoming house! The village is very quiet with lots of pleasant countryside around, and a short walk to Skipton.

Reviewer: Ms. Emma Symonds | Mon 20th Jun 2016


Rockwood B and B - Rating 4/5

Lovely view of the dales from my window. The room was clean to a level one would expect to find at any corporate chain hotels. The owners were very friendly and I would have tried the full English breakfast if I had more time, as this time was a business trip for me. My only tiny reservation was that there wasn\'t any complimentary soap in the bathroom. I would certainly stay again as I want to try the breakfast next time.Can only give 4 stars prior to having breakfast next time. Great location for a short walking holiday. There is also an attractive pub opposite and 23 hours free parking opposite the B and B.

Response

Apologies for lack of soap. Oversight on our part - you should have mentioned it - we normally provide.

Reviewer: Richard Parry | Fri 17th Jun 2016


2 night stay Rockwood House - Rating 5/5

Great place, wonderful location. Hosts could not have been more helpful, Highly recommended

Reviewer: Bob House | Thu 16th Jun 2016


Gem of a B&B - Rating 5/5

Great location, good wifi, clean and comfortable room, handy pub and full English breakfast. Recommend.

Reviewer: David McCue | Fri 10th Jun 2016


Rockwood is just the ticket - Rating 5/5

One overnight stay, travelled from Midlands to see Dr Feelgood perform in Ilkeley Yorks. This Lille b&b has a brilliant location. Room was good size and spotless. Great night sleep. Shower was iffy, not too warm but I tolerated. Breakfast was plentiful and enjoyable. Great service too. Would I stay again? Heck yes

Response

Geoff you must not have let the Hot side run long enough!!!!!

Reviewer: Geoff Whiles | Sun 5th Jun 2016


Perfect - Rating 5/5

Great location - easy to park - lovely room - friendly welcome and great breakfast - would highly recommend and it will definitely be my first choice next time I am in the area!!

Reviewer: Sandra Douglas | Tue 31st May 2016


Lovely Fresh Lodgings in Emsby - Rating 5/5

Thankyou to Jean for a prompt and comfortable stay. The room to the front of the lodgings was light, fresh and very comfortable. It was great to have a parking space in the public carpark right across the road. A lovely view of the hilltop through lace covered window added a peaceful feel to the room. Liz Western Australia

Reviewer: Elizabeth Hall | Wed 4th May 2016


Rock.wood house - Rating 5/5

Quite surprised to read your e.mail asking for a review. We are not booked in until Sunday 27 March 2016. Can you please confirm that you still have this booking. Thank you.

Reviewer: Ian Davison | Wed 9th Dec 2015


Book Online


Our Facilities

  • Credit card
  • Free parking
  • Parking facilities
  • Golf Course Nearby
  • Family rooms
  • Internet services
  • Wifi
  • Horse riding
  • Vegetarian

Contact Details

Rockwood House
14 Main Street Embsay
Skipton
North Yorkshire
BD23 6RE
Tel: 01756 799755
Fax: 01756 802 345
rockwood@steadonline.com